The Wishlist

I ask not for love that moves the earth,
Nor for wealth to build a tower.
I ask for a friend,
To stay till the end.
And to stop along and smell the flowers.

I prayed not for stunning beauty,
Nor for people to make me swoon.
I prayed for a mother
Who was from another,
Once again taken away too soon.

I wished not on shooting stars,
Nor on candles placed on cakes.
I wished on You
And then I knew,
Why everything else seemed so fake.

I dreamed not for lifelong success,
Nor to be accompanied by fame.
I dreamed for hope,
And strength to cope.
And dreamed for everyone else the same.

 

Leave a Reply

