Today The Moon Was Red

Today the moon was red,
And it reminded me of the time when
You splashed the canvas with reddish hues
And told me it was the face of a happy man.

Today I ate alone
And it reminded me of the time when
I woke up to the smell of pancakes
And you told me to eat away.

Today I took a walk
And it reminded me of the time when
The autumn leaves settled in your hair
And I didn’t have the heart to brush them away.

Today the lights went out
And it reminded me of the time when
The flickering candle lit up your face
And made the darkness go away

Today the moon was red,
And it reminded me of the time when
I held the knife in my left hand
And watched you bleed away.

2 thoughts on “Today The Moon Was Red

Leave a Reply

