The Sleep of Love

Our love was like a dream;
Blossomed with our eyelids drooping.
As we went into a hazy trance.
Hypnotic and mesmerizing.
While out hearts swayed to their very own dance.
I tried to dream lucid.
But ended up paralyzed.
By the way your poisonous love seeped
Into the recesses of my subconsciousness
And brought out from their slumber
The demons of my past.
And you hushed them with your lullabies,
Leaving me strong yet fragile.

Dreams were our refuge
But I had slept my life away.
And woke up to find myself fettered
By the chains of unconsciousness.
In a perpetual limbo.

And then I watched you
Tiptoe away.

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Sleep of Love

Leave a Reply

